Reviews of Kentwood Preparatory School

Average: 5.00 Stars

Parent

5 Star Rating

December 4th, 2015

Boca Raton, FL

l wish to take a moment to thank-you as founder of Kentwood Preparatory for your wonderful school. Your dedication to create a school for children with a diagnosis as daunting as ADHD is admirable. However, the true talent of your school is the gradual transformation that has taken place in my son Teddy. He has matured in his two years at Kentwood from an unruly and defiant child to a much more responsible, respectful, and academically motivated young man who is free of medication.

I was at the point of utter exhaustion with his behavior and academic performance when he first entered Kentwood. He was in great danger in the public school arena, having failed one grade and was in grave danger of failing another. My feelings about his academic future were very pessimistic. 1 knew I had a bright and talented child, yet, no matter how hard I tried I was unable to motivate and organize him. Through a referral from his doctor I found Kentwood and your staff was able to diagnose and treat his many initial deficits. It has taken some time to do this as would be expected, however, I now have a son I am proud to say is motivated to succeed.

This note is to thank-you and your staff for your dedicated efforts. I wish you much success and I highly recommend your school to any parent who is struggling with a child like mine was.

Parent

5 Star Rating

November 12th, 2015

Palm Springs, FL

It is with our deepest and most sincere gratitude that we write this letter. When our sixth grade daughter came to you in January 2002 from public school, she was failing or nearly failing every class. You were our last hope for her academic well being.

Thanks to your staff and their techniques for educating and behavior modification, we have seen our daughter succeed. She now enjoys going to school and, while she is looking forward to summer vacation, she is expressing sorrow that the school year is ending.

During the past five months in the Kentwood environment, we have seen our daughter improve her grades, her behavior, self-esteem and general attitude. While we all agree that she has a long way to go, we are filled with hope for a successful future for our daughter.

There are not enough words to thank you all for the work you are doing with our daughter. We are all looking forward to summer camp at Kentwood and for the start of the new school year.

Again, thank you for all that you have done and continue to do.

Parent

5 Star Rating

October 22nd, 2015

Palm Beach Gardens, FL

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your help and work with my son. Even after our initial meeting I was VERY apprehensive, and as you know my sons Tutor came with me on the 2nd interview. We were both very impressed with everything you had to say but we still had concerns that the follow through would be a problem. You definitely could "talk the talk"; I was anxious to see if you could and would "walk the walk".

Your genuine concern for my son and our entire situation was shown in everything you did to try and help us. The after hours work you did with Bradley one on one; the brain storming sessions with me, phone calls, video taping and so on was proof that everything you said was backed up by action. We have had a long history of "talkers”, but no one did the "walking" prior to our experience at your facility.

It was very refreshing to meet and work with you and your staff. Keep up the good work. Your dedication; caring and concern are important to our "special" children out there.

Feel free to use this letter as a reference for other concerned parents, and if I can be of further assistance in any way don’t hesitate to call.

Parent

5 Star Rating

September 25th, 2015

Boynton Beach, FL

My husband and I want to take this opportunity to let you know just how pleased we are with the progress Bradley has made since he started attending Kentwood last fall.

The past 8 months have been such a positive experience for our family. We know behavioral skills are being reinforced daily and, more importantly, on a consistent basis. We have also noted that Bradley has been applying his newly acquired skills at home as well as when we visit friends and relatives. We have been getting positive feedback from others about the tremendous differences in his behavior and his interactions with others.

Over the years, we were continually assured from various schools and teachers that they could handle his disability. Then reality would set in and, of course, they couldn't handle him. When we enrolled Bradley at Kentwood we were desperate, but also fearful that once again he couldn't be helped. We are so overjoyed and grateful that our fears were unfounded. Our horne life has been much less stressful since we are not constantly being called to school for meetings.

We would also like to share some of the feedback we have been getting from Bradley. He shared with us that he is starting to understand that he has to take responsibility for his behaviors and that he now understands that there are consequences for inappropriate behaviors. He has also shared that his self­-confidence is growing because much of the emphasis is placed on recognizing his positive behaviors, rather than criticizing his negative behaviors.

Parent

5 Star Rating

April 27th, 2015

Lantana, FL

I am writing to express my sincere appreciation for the work you are doing. You are an answer to my prayers and a true inspiration.

In the past, most of my time with my children's education was spent in the schools, trying to figure out what could be done so that my children could be successful. I had investigated and exhausted all the resources available, but my children were still struggling. They struggled academically and socially. Our home life was also in turmoil. With all three of my children diagnosed with ADHD it has been a lot of trial and error to figure out how to work with them. There have been a lot of tears, heartache and emotional energy spent. It is not until I came upon Kentwood that there has been relief and confidence knowing that here is a group of people who are thoroughly trained and understand how to work with children with ADHD. I am so impressed with how you work and develop the whole child in all areas of their life.

You are definitely preparing my children and the children at Kentwood for life teaching them the skills that will carry them through adulthood. You are teaching them to take responsibility for themselves and in so doing their self-esteem is being built. I appreciate so much how you are helping me to learn how to parent differently so that I can follow in the same methodology. You truly have our best interest in mind and have the skills to back it up. It is rare these days to find people who have the knowledge and are dedicated to the well being of children and are willing to devote their lives on a daily basis to helping children with ADHD to be the best they can be.

I thank you from the bottom of my heart for your heart, your hard work and dedication to all of these children and families. My gratitude goes deeper than I can express.

Please let me know if there is anything that I can do to help you further this work. It is indeed a privilege to have my children attend this school.

Parent

5 Star Rating

March 5th, 2015

Palm Beach Gardens, FL

We are writing this letter to let you know how pleased we are with Amber's progress at your school. She has earned the best grades of her school career this past semester. If she can continue this advancement, it is sure to raise her self-esteem.

We feel that Amber has also benefited from your staff’s excellent teaching abilities and caring nature. Mrs. Hemdon's guidance has been extremely helpful for Amber. She goes above and beyond what is expected from a teacher. Her beneficial counsel to us in dealing with issues during the school year is also much appreciated. For the first time in her life, Amber actually looks forward to going to school.

Thank you for offering this excellent educational opportunity for Amber. It is a great comfort to have her learning in such a positive setting.

Parent

5 Star Rating

February 2nd, 2015

Boynton Beach, FL

I just wanted to take a moment and extend to you a "thank you" for all that you have done educationally and socially for my daughter, Shea.

This first year at Kentwood has really been a growing year for her. Friends and neighbors who have known our daughter for years have all commented on how well she is coming along and that they have noticed how she has improved socially. Where once our daughter had trouble fitting In with the other little girls In the neighborhood, friends are now knocking on the door seeking out her friendship.

She comes home happy and without anxiety as opposed to when she was in public school and we had to deal with unreasonable homework, anxiety over not being able to keep up with the other students, social unacceptance, and good but expensive tutors. Shea is being taught academically in a way that she can comprehend and we can see that she has progressed. We also like that the curriculum is individualized to her needs.

My husband and I have appreciated how your staff works with Shea and how the administration has worked with us financially.

I look forward to next year to see what further improvements she will make and I feel confident that Shea will grow to be the best that she can be with your help! Thank you!

Parent

5 Star Rating

November 3rd, 2014

Lake Worth, FL

As the school year comes to a close, I just want to extend my gratitude for the incredible job you and your staff have done with David. I have had so many friends and relatives comment on what a change they have seen in him since the beginning of this year. Tim and l feel that a majority of it is due to the patience, kindness, and persistence of Barbara Bongiorno. She has given David his self-esteem back and he now has the confidence to do his school work. He has matured socially as well and Barbara has given him many opportunities for growth. His love of reading was fueled by her weekly library trips with the class. Her nurturing demeanor and positive attitude made many a tough day easier for David.

I want to thank you, personally, for all the time on the phone you spent with David and how well your behavior modification program has worked in our home. Tim and I feel that, through Kentwood, we have been given the tools to raise a productive adult and more importantly, a decent, kind human being. Your program has allowed us to do things as a family and have a happy, peaceful home life.

I look forward to many more years of David growing and learning at Kentwood. Thanks!

School Calendar

Calendar

School Forms

Forms

School Staff

Our Staff

Parents

Parents

FAQ

FAQ's

Parents

Newsletters

Photos

Photos

Lunch

Lunch Menus

Hours of Operation

Front Office

Monday - Friday

8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

School

Monday - Friday

8:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Before Care

Monday - Friday

7:30 AM - 8:30 AM

After Care

Monday - Friday

3:15 PM - 5:30 PM

AISF Accreditation
SACS Accreditation